advisory board

The Community Schools Advisory Board is tasked with raising the bar for community schools across the city by enhancing existing programs, increasing parental involvement, and developing new community schools that reach families in need. The Advisory Board is composed of stakeholders from various sectors—foundations, business, education, research, health, and non-profit providers—all of which play a role in existing and new Community Schools.

Community School Advisory Board Members


Board Member

Advocates for Children

Kim Sweet

Annenberg Institute for School Reform

Megan Hester

Broome Street Academy Charter School                     

Principal Barbara McKeon

Center for Children's Initiatives

Nancy Kolben

Children's Aid/NCCS

Lukas Weinstein

Children's Defense Fund – NY

Naomi Post

Children's Health Fund/Columbia University

Karen Redlener

City Council

Mili Bonilla

Columbia Presbyterian

Dr. John S. Santelli

Committee for Hispanic Children and Families

Diana Noriega

Council of School Supervisors & Administrators

Rosemarie Sinclair

Cypress Hills Local Development Corporation

Michelle Neugebauer

Deutsche Bank

Nicole Leach

Dimon Foundation

Abby Jo Sigal

East Bronx Academy for the Future  - 12X271

Principal Sarah Scrogin

El Puente

Frances Lucerna

ExpandED Schools

Lucy Friedman

FoodBank NYC

Margarette Purvis

Ford Foundation

Sanjiv Rao  

Good Shepard Services

Sister Paulette LoMonaco

Harlem Children's Zone

Anne Williams-Isom

Make the Road NY

Sarah Landes

Montefiore Health System

Dr. David Appel

Mount Sinai Hospital

Dr. Angela Diaz

National Center for Community Schools

Jane Quinn

Network for Youth Success

Alli Lidie

New Visions for Public Schools

Mark Dunetz

New York City Council Finance Division

Elizabeth Hoffman

NYC Coalition for Educational Justice

Felicia Alexander

NYS Alliance for Quality Education (AQE)

Zakiyah Ansari 

NYU Lutheran Health Care

Kathy Hopkins

Partnership for New York City

Kathryn Wylde

Partnership with Children

Caitlin Lucchino

Phipps CDC

Dianne Morales

Robin Hood Foundation

Emary Aronson


Nancy Zimpher

The Child Center of NY

Deep Ghosh

The New School/Center for NYC Affairs

Kim Nauer

Tishman Speyer

Michelle Adams

Trinity Wall Street

Ariella Louie

UFT Community Schools Initiative

Karen Alford

United Way of NYC

Sheena Wright


Sharon Levy

Youth Development Institute

Sabrina Evans Ellis


Read more: